1. Patient State Registration
The first step in obtaining medical cannabis certification is your online application with the MMCC. You’ll be required to provide the following information:
- An email address you are comfortable using in relation to your Maryland medical cannabis account.
- The last four digits of your Social Security Number.
- An electronic copy of a valid US government-issued photo ID and Proof of Maryland address.
- An electronic copy of a clear photograph taken within the last six (6) months.
Acceptable forms of ID:
- Driver’s license or Motor Vehicle Administration identification card (both front and back)
- Military ID
If the identification you provide is not a Maryland driver’s license or MVA ID card, then you must also provide proof of a Maryland address such as the following:
- MVA change of address card
- Utility bill
- Rental contract
- Property tax bill
- Bank statement
- Official federal or state document
- Official documentation from Registrar documenting current enrollment and on-campus living status
Good things come to those who wait!
Due to the high volume of applications, it is recommended that you wait to contact the MMCC until it has been more than 45 days since submitting your application. Don’t worry, you will get there! Keep an eye on your email inbox.
2. Visit a MMCC Registered Physician for Your Written Certification
Once your application has been approved, you are officially registered with MMCC and have your patient ID number. The next step is to visit a physician to obtain a valid written certification. Choosing a medical cannabis doctor is a crucial step in your treatment and you may have to look beyond your family doctor for the best service. This physician must be registered with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.
During the visit, your doctor will determine if your medical condition(s) qualify you for certification under Maryland state law. If you are a Maryland resident and have been diagnosed with at least one of the following conditions, you may qualify:
Severe or persistent muscle spasms
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
or another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective
3. Become a KIP Patient
Once approved, it’s time to register as a KIP patient. Bring in your written certification, state ID, and patient ID to complete our new patient form. We also recommend scheduling a complimentary one-on-one consultation with a Patient Care Specialist. We’ll get you KIP-equipped with essential information to help you start your cannabis journey on the right foot.
Note: You’re eligible to purchase an optional, printed patient ID card for a fee of $50. You must use your certification to purchase medical cannabis within 120 days of insurance or it will become null and void.